Concurrences Ph.D. Thesis Awards

The Concurrences Ph.D. Awards are aimed at selecting and publishing the best thesis on specific topics in competition/regulation law or economics, excluding works on more general subjects, such as treatises and manuals. Where possible, Concurrences grants every year two Ph.D. Awards: Ph.D. Award in Competition Law, and, Ph.D. Award in Competition and Economics. Law theses must concern EU competition law, law in member States, or law in States linked by cooperation agreements to the EU, as well as comparative law research with a European dimension.

Only Ph.D. theses are eligible, not Master theses. Theses must have been defended between 1st March 2019 and 1st March 2020. Language can either be English or French.

Thesis (together with and any available post-oral examination report) must be sent in PDF version by email to in order to validate the registration. They must be received by Jury members via regular mail by 1st April 2020, close of business. Postal addresses are provided on request. The winner(s) of the 2020 Ph.D. Award will be posted on this page and will be announced at the New Frontiers of Antitrust Conference 2020.

Theses eligible to the Concurrences Ph.D. Award shall not have been published. They shall not be covered by a publishing contract or a preferential right granted to another publisher. Until the Jury has made its decision public, candidates shall neither enter into a publishing contract with another publisher nor grant a preferential right to another publisher. Should the Jury decide to make candidates an offer to publish their thesis, candidates commit themselves to publish their work with Concurrences. Any print or online version of the theses awarded a prize shall mention the Concurrences Ph.D. Award on their cover page.

Ph.D. Awards dotation

  • Publication at no cost of the thesis in the Concurrences collection directed by Professor Laurence Idot
  • Presentation of the thesis at the French Ministry of Economy for the New Frontiers of Antitrust Conference
  • Publication of an article in Concurrences Review
  • One-Year free subscription to Concurrences+

Jury members (2019)

  • Laurence Idot, University Paris II Panthéon-Assas (President)
  • Emmanuel Combe, French Competition Authority and University Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne 
  • Damien Neven, The Graduate Institute for International and Development Studies, Geneva 
  • Emmanuelle Claudel, University Paris II Panthéon-Assas
  • Wouter Wils, European Commission, and King’s College London 

2019 Ph.D. Awards

  • Godefroy de Montcuit, "La faute lucrative en droit de la concurrence", University of Versailles Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelynes. (to be published in the Concurrences Ph.D. collection by 2020)

2018 Ph.D. Award

2017 Ph.D. Award

2016 Ph.D. Award

2015 Ph.D. Awards

  • Anna Pisarkiewicz, "Evolving Forms of Abuse of Dominant Position in the Electronic Communications Sector", European University Institute, Florence
  • Damien Reymond, "Action antidumping et droit de la concurrence dans l’Union européenne", University Panthéon-Assas, Paris II

2013 Ph.D. Awards

  • Rafael Amaro, "Le contentieux privé des pratiques anticoncurrentielles. Etude des contentieux complémentaire et autonome devant les juridictions judiciaires", University Paris V-René Descartes
  • Michael J. Frese, "Sanctions in EU Competition Law: Principles and Practice", Amsterdam University

2012 Ph.D. Award

  • Martijn Han, "Vertical relations in cartel theory", Amsterdam University

2011 Ph.D. Awards

  • Jérôme Gstalter, "Droit de la concurrence et droits de propriété intellectuelle", University Panthéon-Sorbonne Paris I
  • Claire Mongouachon, "Abus de position dominante et secteur public", Université Paris Ouest Nanterre La Défense
  • Silvia Pietrini, "L’action collective en droit des pratiques anticoncurrentielles", University Paris Ouest Nanterre La Défense

2008 Ph.D. Award

  • Anne-Lise Sibony, "Le juge et le raisonnement économique en droit de la concurrence", University Paris-Dauphine

2007 Ph.D. Award

  • David Bosco, "L’obligation d’exclusivité", University Aix Marseille

2005 Ph.D. Award

  • Laetitia Driguez, "Droit social et droit de la concurrence", University Panthéon-Sorbonne Paris I