South African Competition Commission (Pretoria)

Competition Commission of South Africa

South African Competition Commission (Pretoria)
Civil servant

The Competition Commission (Commission) is one of three independent statutory bodies established in terms of the Competition Act, No. 89 of 1998 (the Act) to regulate competition between firms in the market. The other bodies are the Competition Tribunal (Tribunal) and the Competition Appeal Court (CAC). The Commission is the investigating and prosecuting agency in the competition regime while the Tribunal is the court. The CAC hears appeals against decisions of the Tribunal. Although each of the bodies functions independently of each other and of the State, the Commission and Tribunal are administratively accountable to the Economic Development Department (EDD), while the CAC is part of the judiciary.

Linked author

South African Competition Commission (Pretoria)


166 Bulletin

Send a message