2019 Concurrences Thesis Award

The Concurrences PhD Award is aimed at selecting and publishing the best thesis on specific topics in competition/regulation law or economics, excluding works on more general subjects, such as treatises and manuals. Law theses must concern EU competition law, law in member States, or law in States linked by cooperation agreements to the EU, as well as comparative law research with a European dimension. Only PhD theses are eligible, not Master theses. Theses must have been defended between 1st March 2018 and 1st March 2019. Language can either be English or French. Eligible theses shall not have been published or accepted for publication (see terms below). The winning thesis will be published in the Concurrences collection. Thesis and post-oral examination report must be sent in PDF version by email to review@concurrences.com in order to validate registration. They must be received by Jury members via regular mail by 13th May 2019, close of business. Postal addresses are provided on request. The winner(s) of the 2019 PhD Award will be posted on this page in June 2019.

Jury members

  • Laurence Idot, University Paris II Panthéon-Assas (President)
  • Emmanuel Combe, French Competition Authority and University Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne 
  • Damien Neven, The Graduate Institute for International and Development Studies, Geneva 
  • Emmanuelle Claudel, University Paris II Panthéon-Assas
  • Wouter Wils, European Commission and King’s College London 

2019 Concurrences PhD Awards

  • Godefroy de Montcuit, "La faute lucrative en droit de la concurrence", University of Versailles Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelynes. (to be published in the Concurrences PhD collection by December 2019)

Theses eligible to the 2019 Concurrences PhD Award

  • Sibylle Chaudouet, « Le déséquilibre significatif », University of Montpellier
  • Sinan Corus, « Essays on Proactive Detection of Collusion, Ex-post Analysis of Competition Policy Actions and Estimating Overcharge », University of St. Andrews
  • Ingrid Halvorsen, « A Legal Analysis of Leniency in the Interaction of Public and Private Cartel Enforcement within EU Competition Law », University of Bergen
  • Godefroy de Moncuit, « Faute lucrative et droit de la concurrence», University Paris-Saclay
  • Vasiliki Ntinoka, « Le partage du contentieux de la régulation économique des autorités indépendantes », University Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne
  • Albert Pereda, « Patent Settlements & EU Competition Law: A Balance to Ensure Innovation Benefiting Consumers », University of Basel
  • Emilie Schwaller, « La protection des droits fondamentaux des entreprises en droit des aides d’Etat», Strasbourg University
  • Laura Zoboli, « The Digital Borders within the EU: Geo-Blocking, IP and Competition Law », Bocconi University, Milan

2018 Concurrences PhD Award

2017 Concurrences PhD Award

2016 Concurrences PhD Award

  • Konstantina Bania, "The Role of Media Pluralism in the Enforcement of EU Competition Law", European University Institute, Florence (to be published in the Concurrences PhD collection in 2019)

2015 Concurrences PhD Awards

  • Anna Pisarkiewicz, "Evolving Forms of Abuse of Dominant Position in the Electronic Communications Sector", European University Institute, Florence
  • Damien Reymond, "Action antidumping et droit de la concurrence dans l’Union européenne", University Panthéon-Assas, Paris II

2013 Concurrences PhD Awards

  • Rafael Amaro, "Le contentieux privé des pratiques anticoncurrentielles. Etude des contentieux complémentaire et autonome devant les juridictions judiciaires", University Paris V-René Descartes
  • Michael J. Frese, "Sanctions in EU Competition Law: Principles and Practice", Amsterdam University

2012 Concurrences PhD Award

  • Martijn Han, "Vertical relations in cartel theory", Amsterdam University

2011 Concurrences PhD Awards

  • Jérôme Gstalter, "Droit de la concurrence et droits de propriété intellectuelle", University Panthéon-Sorbonne Paris I
  • Claire Mongouachon, "Abus de position dominante et secteur public", Université Paris Ouest Nanterre La Défense
  • Silvia Pietrini, "L’action collective en droit des pratiques anticoncurrentielles", University Paris Ouest Nanterre La Défense

2008 Concurrences PhD Award

  • Anne-Lise Sibony, "Le juge et le raisonnement économique en droit de la concurrence", University Paris-Dauphine

2007 Concurrences PhD Award

  • David Bosco, "L’obligation d’exclusivité", University Aix Marseille

2005 Concurrences PhD Award

  • Laetitia Driguez, "Droit social et droit de la concurrence", University Panthéon-Sorbonne Paris I

Theses eligible to the Concurrences PhD Award shall not have been published. They shall not be covered by a publishing contract or a preferential right granted to another publisher as set out in Article L. 132-4 of the French Code of Intellectual Property. Until the Jury has made its decision public, candidates shall neither enter into a publishing contract with another publisher nor grant a preferential right to another publisher. Should the Jury decide to make candidates an offer to publish their thesis, candidates commit themselves to publishing their work with the Institute of Competition Law. Any print version of the theses awarded a prize shall mention the Concurrences PhD Award on their cover page.