Concurrences Thesis Award

The Concurrences PhD Award is aimed at selecting and publishing the best thesis on specific topics in competition/regulation law or economics, excluding works on more general subjects, such as treatises and manuals. Law theses must concern EU competition law, law in member States, or law in States linked by cooperation agreements to the EU, as well as comparative law research with a European dimension. Only PhD theses are eligible, not Master theses. Theses must have been defended between 1st March 2017 and 1st March 2018. Language can either be English or French. Eligible theses shall not have been published or accepted for publication (see terms below). The winning these(s) will be published in the Concurrences collection. Thesis and post-oral examination report must be sent in PDF version by email to in order to validate registration. They must be received by Jury members via regular mail by 1st May 2018, close of business. Postal addresses are provided on request. The winner(s) of the 2018 PhD Award will be posted on this page Monday 4 June 2018.

Jury members:
- Emmanuelle Claudel, Professor, University Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne (President)
- Emmanuel Combe, Professor, University Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne; Member of the French "Autorité de la concurrence"
- Anne-Lise Sibony, Professor, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
- Jacques Steenbergen, Professor, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven; President of the Belgian Competition Authority

Selected candidates considered:
- Marie Cartapanis : "Innovation et droit de la concurrence", Aix-Marseille University
- Walid Chaiehloudj : "Les accords de report d’entrée - Contribution à l’étude de la relation du droit de la concurrence et du droit des brevets", Aix-Marseille University
- Etienne Durand : "Electricité de source renouvelable et droit du marché intérieur européen", University Jean Moulin Lyon 3
- Rachid El Bazzim : "Le Conseil de la concurrence au Maroc – De la recherche de l’indépendance à la régulation du marché", University Hassan Premier- Settat
- Olivier Pejout : "La conditionnalité en droit des aides d’état", Bordeaux University
- Anna Tzanaki : "The regulation of minority shareholdings and other structural links between competing undertakings under EU competition law: A law & economics analysis", University College London

2017 Concurrences PhD Award

- Ignacio Herrera Anchustegui, "Buyer Power in EU Competition Law", PhD University of Bergen

2016 Concurrences PhD Award

- Konstantina Bania, "The Role of Media Pluralism in the Enforcement of EU Competition Law", IUE, Florence.

2015 Concurrences PhD Awards

- Anna Pisarkiewicz, "Evolving Forms of Abuse of Dominant Position in the Electronic Communications Sector", European University Institute.

- Damien Reymond : "Action antidumping et droit de la concurrence dans l’Union européenne", Université Panthéon-Assas, Paris II.

2013 Concurrences PhD Awards

- Rafael Amaro, "Le contentieux privé des pratiques anticoncurrentielles. Etude des contentieux complémentaire et autonome devant les juridictions judiciaires", Université Paris V-René Descartes.

- Michael J. Frese, Sanctions in EU Competition Law: Principles and Practice, Amsterdam University.

2012 Concurrences PhD Award

- Martijn Han, Vertical relations in cartel theory, Sept. 2011, Amsterdam University.

2011 Concurrences PhD Awards

- Jérôme Gstalter, "Droit de la concurrence et droits de propriété intellectuelle", Université Panthéon-Sorbonne Paris I.

- Claire Mongouachon, "Abus de position dominante et secteur public", Université Paris Ouest Nanterre La Défense.

- Silvia Pietrini, "L’action collective en droit des pratiques anticoncurrentielles", Université Paris Ouest Nanterre La Défense.

2007 Concurrences PhD Award

- David Bosco, "L’obligation d’exclusivité", Université Aix Marseille

2005 Concurrences PhD Award

- Laetitia Driguez, "Droit social et droit de la concurrence", Université Panthéon-Sorbonne Paris I

Theses eligible to the Concurrences PhD Award shall not have been published. They shall not be covered by a publishing contract or a preferential right granted to another publisher as set out in Article L. 132-4 of the French Code of Intellectual Property. Until the Jury has made its decision public, candidates shall neither enter into a publishing contract with another publisher nor grant a preferential right to another publisher. Should the Jury decide to make candidates an offer to publish their thesis, candidates commit themselves to publishing their work with the Institute of Competition Law. Any print version of the theses awarded a prize shall mention the Concurrences PhD Award on their cover page.